Maryland Uninsured Motorist Penalties and fees effective 7-1-24

Updated 6-12-24.   New laws were passed by the Maryland Legislature during the recent session that will affect Maryland drivers. These changes are scheduled to take effect on July 1, 2024.

Virginia will require all vehicles registered in the state to have auto insurance.  Approximately 34,000 Maryland residents currently register their vehicles in Virginia and some of them may have opted to pay the uninsured motorist vehicle fee instead of obtaining insurance.  Marylanders may seek to register their vehicles and will need to obtain the required  coverage.

The 2nd bill makes changes to the existing uninsured motorist penalties that apply when required insurance on a motor vehicle registered in the State terminates or otherwise lapses during its registration period. This is the first time in over 30 years that Maryland’s uninsured driver penalty fines have been adjusted.

Increased fees are as follows:

  • Increasing the initial 30-day uninsured motorist penalty fine from $150 to $200
  • After the first 30 days, the daily penalty remains at $7
  • Increasing the maximum 12-month penalty from $2,500 to $3,500

With these changes, the average annual premium for a Maryland Auto policy is lower than the maximum annual uninsured driver penalty. At the current rate, it is often cheaper for some drivers to pay the fine than to get insurance. This law changes that, and it is an important step in enforcing Maryland’s auto insurance requirement.
Additionally, the annual registration costs for passenger vehicles are increasing this summer. The new rates are due to the Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2024 passed by the state legislature. The new base rate for registration fees will be based on vehicle class and weight as follows:

  • Passenger cars up to 3,500 lbs. – $110.50
  • Passenger cars between 3,500 lbs and 3,700 lbs – $120.50
  • Passenger cars over 3,700 lbs – $161.50

Vehicles can be renewed for either one-year or two-year terms.