MARYLAND LAW EFFECTIVE 7-1-17 — $50 FINE FOR DRIVING WITHOUT PROOF OF INSURANCE (AUTO ID CARD)
The $50 fine associated with Maryland’s requirement to carry a valid insurance card will be enforced beginning on July 1 of this year. This law took effect last October, but the state allowed a brief introduction period where warnings were issued to drivers who did not have an insurance card. That warning period ended on July 1, 2017 and law enforcement officers have begun issuing citations.
You must carry an UP-TO-DATE auto insurance card with you to avoid the $50 fine. Good News! A cell phone copy of the auto ID card is also acceptable.
Remember, when your auto policy is renewing, to also obtain an updated Auto ID card.
Please contact our office if you have misplaced or do not have your Auto ID card.
Other states like, Pennsylvania and the District of Columbia have already enacted similar laws.
We are here to help you with all your insurance needs. Please give us a call if you have any questions or would like us to review your auto insurance.